A Day in the Life of a Banker

So, this has been my life for almost a year now. It’s honestly a dream job and I hadn’t considered it one until a former professor told me, “A lot of people would be very happy to have the job you do” and he’s right.

“But you’re not satisfied with just a job. You have to write this book,” he added. He’s right.


Still, I enjoy working for my boss and with my coworkers. I’ve got a good handle on how things operate and how to be successful at my job. It’s not as easy as it looks, let me assure you. And if you think being a teller is an easy job, you are dead wrong. Sure, the money is in higher positions but the tellers are the frontline defence protecting your money. If there’s someone who’s got your checkbook or debit card pretending to be you, they know how to stop them. Give them the time of day.

Of course, I lucked out. Not every banking centre is like mine. There are a lot of banking centres out there that are disorganised and dirty. There are managers who don’t have your best interest at heart. There are teams that don’t behave like a team –> your teammates will try to take your accounts away from you. It can get nasty.

I’m also a baby in the industry. It feels like everyone has so much more experience than me. One day that may change if my book isn’t a success, but for now, keep in mind there are people who’ve survived the industry during 2008. I’m not one of them.

So I start my day around 7, rolling out of bed at 7:30, and out the door by 7:45 if I open. I get my iced americano and I’m waiting in the parking lot to do opening procedures by 8:30. I do my makeup then and walk in the door a little bit before 9. I scurry around doing what I need to do: whether behind the teller line or preparing for call blocks as my position has me on both sides of the banking centre. We open at 9, and honestly, I’m probably still getting my computer ready because they’re slow to load everything up. Sometimes, people show up right at 9 and are the fussier ones. Don’t mess their transactions up because they get really bent out of shape. After that, it’ll be quiet for a bit and I’ll thumb through emails or veg out. Well, that’s how I’ve been doing things. Now I’m super motivated and I’m constantly looking for leads and building my clientele up. Thankfully, I made my numbers in two weeks from a few mortgages but I’m not quitting. I write about interactions with clients in my binder, send thank you emails, and look over profiles to see how we can help people better.

I have a snack around 10:30 when things start picking up and then the lunch rush happens. That’s usually when I have to hop on the teller line since there’s only one other person on a drawer. My endurance has built up a lot and I’m able to take a constant go-go-go of deposits and withdrawals but it takes a few months to build that endurance up. There is so much tellers look for which is what tuckers us out. And I’m not going to tell you what so you don’t get any ideas. I try to have lunch around 1 or 2 and then continue building call lists and hopefully have a call block. Hopefully, I don’t get too caught up helping people order new debit cards which is one of the biggest reasons come into the bank these days.

By 4, we’re tired, but we’ve got 2 hours to go. Hopefully, I got my one thing in for the day. That’s my goal these days. I want to get either an investment referral, a new account of any type, maybe a new loan app; just one thing I can say I did that day. It’ll add up and I’ll get my incentive bonus for the quarter. I’m going on 10 business days so far. My boss and her boss are both really proud of me.

It’s really not that bad though sometimes it can feel like it. The staffing model has really skeletoned itself so it’s a lot of hours. Last night, I left at 7 and I was in bed by 10 because I was so tired. They try preaching a work-life balance but that’s a bit of a joke. I worked 11.5 hours overtime this week. I’m just glad I get paid hourly, lol.

Leave a Reply

