4 June 2016 Book Update

pexels-photo-57690-large
pexels.com

Hii Errbody :3

My activity on my blog seems to be increasing which makes me proud! I have a handful of scheduled posts coming out and I’m back into a full swing of editing Book 1. I aim for a chapter every day I work on it, tweaking things here and there and clearing out the comments point out what to fix. I have far less stamina than I did during the months of November through January that passed most recently. But I’m okay with that. I am working steadily towards my goals which is what’s important.

I’d like to give another thankful nod to Lara Willard with her editing progress spreadsheet. The spreadsheet keeps me motivated and I like the visual “yes/no” take it has as opposed to my mind going, “Ok you haven’t done this, this, or this. When are you going to fix this?” Like it or not, I can be brutal to myself in my commentary of fixing things. For instance, I have one that says, “This sentence bothers me… Like, can I pls write better?” and I have many more like that which can be defeating when I go back and try to fix all the parts where I ask myself to write better.

When I finally get to the point that I seek a publishing contract, I will pay her to look over both my query letter and my first chapter. I shamelessly suggest to fellow writers out there that you at least peruse her website. She has such fabulous advice and lovely goodies. I read a lot as a kid and I wrote a lot as a kid but I got my degree in finance. Knowing what publishers want and what I should be doing whether writing or editing was all new to me. I’m still not sure if I have everything right but I think I’ve got enough to get me by and a lot of it is thanks to Lara.

Anyways, I should have the second draft finished by the end of the month if I keep moving at my pace. Back in January, I started writing Book 2 out because I didn’t know what else to do. I finished the first draft of Book 1 on 28 Dec and it was way too soon to begin editing it. I read it today and I was pretty pleased with it. I also read an early version of Book 1 before I had culture, plot, and all the other good stuff that makes my book unique fleshed out. That was three years ago. I was blown away by my progress. I’m so much more keen on dynamics, tone, diction, mood, description, details, and all the other stuff you have to look for when editing. Trust me, it’s a lot.

While I wrote myself demoralising commentary in the past and it can seem like there’s no way out of the constant deluge of editing, there is certainly a light at the end of the tunnel! And I know that now.

I hope you see that too and I promise to come out with more content regularly from now on πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “4 June 2016 Book Update

Leave a Reply

